Musical Mosaics

ASO Chamber Concert at the Central Library

Program description:

This concert was presented in partnership with the Central Library’s exhibit titled Entre Linas, and draws inspiration from the artwork on display. Our program featured works by three 21st Century Female composers. Each composer draws inspiration from her cultural heritage to create unique works that communicate their personal story through the medium of a traditional string quartet. The program included biographical information about each composer, and during the concert, the musicians shared insights about unique musical elements heard in each piece.

Teresa Carreno, String Quartet in B Minor
II. Andante
III. Scherzo: Allegro ma non troppo
IV. Allegro risoluto
Florence Price, Five Folksongs in Counterpoint
1. Calvary (Adagio Vigoroso)
2. Clementine (Tempo Moderato)
3. Drink to Me Only With Thine Eyes (Andante Cantabile)
4. Shortnin’ Bread (Allegro)
5. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot (Andantino)
Gabriela Lena Frank, Leyendas: An Andean Walkabout
1. “Toyos”
2. “Tarqueada”
4. “Chasqui”
6. “Coqueteos”